Behindwoods Gold Medals 2013 – Honouring the best performers of Tamil Cinema 2013 

Created with flickr slideshow.     June 15th 2014, was one of the most exciting days for, as they hosted their first award function. Behindwoods Gold Summit, was...

Created with flickr slideshow.



June 15th 2014, was one of the most exciting days for, as they hosted their first award function.

Behindwoods Gold Summit, was an exclusive conclave of the distinguished members of the film fraternity aimed at honouring the best that Tamil cinema had to offer in 2013. The categories, nominees and the final award winners numbering to 38, were hand-picked after much analysis and thought put in by our in-house film experts, with wide range of inputs from leading technicians of the industry and public opinion. The summit was also our way of thanking the industry for their continued support to us on the eve of Behindwoods successfully completing ten years.

We are happy to announce that the website, videos and photos dedicated to Behindwoods Gold Medal winners were released to the public on Aug 29th 2014.

The full award video :

The award function will also be telecast through our television partner Kalaignar TV on Sunday, Aug 31st 2014, at 2:30pm. 

Song and dance routines weren’t added as part of our program. Instead a healthy discussion involving some of Tamil cinema’s bright young film makers and anchored by a leading industry mind, was our idea of ‘variety entertainment’. It was all business and we got down to it with minimum fuss and minimum time.

The venue was ITC Grand Chola in the heart of Chennai, a place known for its grandeur and its royal ambiance. Another aspect of our show was to handout gold medals to the winners and not the usual mementos and statuettes, that one would generally associate with such award shows. On a lighter note, we raised our show to ‘Olympian levels’, and filled our award winners with the pride that is generally reserved only to such medal winners.

K.Balachander was presented the Golden Legacy Award, for completing 50 years in Indian cinema. Behindwoods became the first media house to felicitate Late Balu Mahendra with the Life time achievement award in 2014. Kamal haasan was honoured with the Legendary Performance Award for Viswaroopam. A.R.Rahman received an award from MS Viswanathan for the first time in his illustrious career, for Best Music in Kadal and Maryan.

We wholeheartedly thank legends such as K.Balachander, M.S.Viswanathan, Kamal Haasan, Bharathiraja and A.R.Rahman, industry heavyweights like Suriya, Bala and Dhanush, actors Siva Karthikeyan, Vijay Sethupathi, Santhanam and Kishore, music director Anirudh, Lyricist Na. Muthukumar and Mrs. Ahileshwari Mahendra, wife of late Balu Mahendra for taking time out of their busy schedules to support us in our first award initiative. Special thanks to the beautiful Pooja who came all the way from Sri Lanka for our event. 

Many seasoned directors like Suseenthiran, Ram, Vishnuvardhan, Rajesh, Poo Sasi, Vetrimaaran, the new breed directors like Bharathbala, C.S.Amuthan, Balaji Mohan, Karthik Subbaraj, Balaji Tharaneetharan, Naveen, R.S.Prasanna, producers Thanu, Amma Creations Shiva, Disney UTV’s South Head Dhananjayan, Escape Artistes’ P.Madan, J Satish Kumar, CV Kumar, Y Not Sashikanth, Abinesh of Abi & Abi Pictures, Next Big Films Shanmugam, Editors Praveen and Kishore, Cinematographers Madhie and Chezhian, Costume Designer Poornima, Costume Maker Perumal Selvam, Dance choreographer Prasanna, Stunt choreographer Anal Arasu, Art directors Lalgudi Ilayaraja and C.S Balachander, Singer Sriram Parthasarathy and many others made their indelible marks on the day with their much-needed attendance.

All those hours of planning on paper and discussion in our office rooms bore fruit on June 15th, when we put up a honourable debut show in the big world of film events. All this would not have been possible without the backing of the experienced industry hands of PRO Riaz Ahmed, PRO Suresh Chandra and the D’One team. VJ Ramya, beautifully anchored the event, making sure there wasn’t any shortage of grace and elegance. 

“An emotional A.R.Rahman getting his first medal from his idol M.S.Viswanathan, Rahman doing the honours for a charged Anirudh, Bharathiraja similarly honouring Dhanush and Sivakarthikeyan and an emotional Bala getting his first award from Akila Amma ” … Stay tuned to for all these memorable moments and much more from our event, captured through video footage and photos.

We take this opportunity to sincerely thank all our visitors from across the globe for their continued patronage. We promise to come back next year, bigger, grander and stronger in every aspect. 


The Behindwoods Gold Medal Winners list 

Golden Legacy Award: BALACHANDER

Legendary Performance: KAMAL HAASAN (Vishwaroopam)

Lifetime Achievement: BALU MAHENDRA

Best Music: AR RAHMAN (Kadal, Maryan)

Best Acting Performance: BHARATHIRAJA (Pandianadu)

Best Entertaining Performance: SURIYA (Singam 2)

Best Acting Performance: DHANUSH (Maryan)

Best Entertaining Performance:  SIVAKARTHIKEYAN (Varuthapadatha Vaalibar Sangam, Ethir Neechal)

Best Acting Performance: VIJAY SETHUPATHI (Soodhu Kavvum, Idharkkuthaane Aasaipattai Balakumara)

Best Acting Performance: SANTHANAM – (Raja Rani, Endrendrum Punnagai)

Best Acting Performance: POOJA UMASHANKAR (Vidiyum Munn) 

Best Acting Performance: KISHORE (Haridas, Vana Yudham)

Best Acting Performance: NAYANTHARA (Raja Rani)

Best Acting Performance: PARVATHY MENON (Maryan)

Best Direction: BALA (Paradesi)

Best Direction: RAM (Thanga Meengal)

Best Direction: SUSEENTHIRAN (Pandianadu, Aadhalal Kadhal Seiveer)

Best Direction: MYSSKIN (Onaayum Aatukuttiyum)

Best Direction: NALAN KUMARASAMY (Soodhu Kavvum)

Best Music: ANIRUDH (Ethir Neechal, Vanakkam Chennai)

Best Cinematography: MADHIE (Pandianadu, Endrendrum Punnagai)

Best Cinematography: CHEZHIAN (Paradesi)

Best Production: SASIKUMAR (Thalaimuraigal)

Best Production: CV KUMAR (Soodhu Kavvum)

Best Production: J SATISH KUMAR (Thanga Meengal)

Best Production: NAVEEN (Moodar Koodam)

Best Lyrics: NA MUTHUKUMAR (Thanga Meengal)

Best Singer: SREERAM PARTHASARATHY (Thanga Meengal)

Best Singer: SHAKTHISREE GOPALAN (Kadal, Maryan)

Best Editing: SATHYARAJ (Vidiyum Munn, Kalyana Samayal Saadham)

Best Editing: ALPHONSE PUTHAREN (Neram)

Best Art Direction: LALGUDI ILAYARAJA (Vishwaroopam)

Best Art Direction: CS BALACHANDER (Paradesi)

Best Song Choreography: PRASANNA (Aindhu Aindhu Aindhu)

Best Stunt Choreography: ANAL ARASU (Pandianadu, Singam 2)

Best Stunt Choreography: LEE WHITTAKER (Vishwaroopam, Arrambam)

Best Costumes: POORNIMA (Paradesi)

Best Costume Maker: PERUMAL SELVAM (Paradesi)

One Comment

Leave a Reply